Tam tam taaaam. Cue to scary music, with the fear that you MUST be forgetting something essential. And THAT would be the thing that would keep you from scoring a contract. Of course.

Doesn’t that sound irrational? And yet, somewhere inside of us, we think it makes sense. If I don’t pack the perfect pair of shoes, everything will be ruined… Or maybe that’s just me.

I guess what we’re the most afraid of messing up is the promotional material for our book. One-sheets, proposals, cards and the like. Cue to Avril Lavigne singing, “Why do you have to go and make things so complicated?” Oh why, oh why, publishing industry? Why can’t just our awesome ideas be enough?

Because every dream has a price. At every step, this business seems to test how much we REALLY want it. You’re the one who has to decide if your goal to be published is worth the effort and time (and occasional tears). If not, it’s okay. But if it is, well, then suck it up.

I’m saying these things to myself as my excitement about the conference often turns into anxiety. Showcasing our novel out there isn’t different than letting your baby go into the world. It will NEVER feel like we’re ready enough.

But then I’m reminded about the New Living Translation of Psalm 23: “The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need.” Could we really believe that? After we’ve done all we could do, that we don’t have to rely on our own preparedness for the future? Can we say, with honesty, that He is all we need? I’m doing my best to get there.

