micromanager

I think everyone knows what it’s like to be around someone who can’t. let. anything. go. They question every single thing you do, and have an opinion about it. Even if they’re awesome people aside from this, it’s still hard not to be offended by their lack of faith that you might know what you’re doing, right?

Well, imagine if God feels like that with us. When we act like He’s supposed to give us a perfect explanation for every little aspect of our lives. “Why did that happen?”, we might ask. “Why do I have to go through this discomfort? Doesn’t He KNOW it’s hard??” Um, He DOES. And also knows better than to give in to our little diva tantrums :).

Now, I’m not saying it’s wrong to tell God how you’re feeling. But there’s a difference between opening your heart up to Him and just plain whining. When my 3-year-old daughter starts throwing a tantrum, even when I already plan to give to her what she wants, I give her some time to check her attitude before saying “yes.” I think God, like us, doesn’t appreciate being talked to like He owes us something.

Here are the prayers that I notice answers to the most: when I tell Him, “I don’t like this, I honestly don’t know why in Heaven’s name I’m going through this, and I’m not going to hide from You how upset I am over it.” God can respect that. He wants honesty, not a pretend-peaceful expression while you’re angry inside. If we approach Him wanting to hear HIS voice and know what HE wants, He shows up.

So do yourself a favor – don’t try to understand. Don’t try to tell God how to do His job. He’s far too overqualified for us to be playing micromanagers about the way He runs our lives.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give a hope and a future. Then you will call on Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

